American Association for Agricultural Education North Central Region Committee Report

Committee:	Program Improvement		Y	Year: 2009
	Activities Planned	Date to be Completed	Responsible Individual(s)	Estimated Cost
2010 NC AAAI	E Poster Session		Tim Buttles	

Comments/Discussion Items:

- Tim Buttles was elected 2009-2010 Chair of the Program Improvement Committee.
- John Ewing was elected 2009-2010 Vice-Chair of the Program Improvement Committee.
- In 2008, Kansas State was selected as the Host Institution for the 2010 NC AAAE Conference.
- The Pennsylvania State University was selected as the Host Institution for the 2011 NC AAAE Conference. Tracy Hoover will be the contact.
- The timing of the poster sessions was discussed by the committee.
- Procedures for the poster sessions were discussed. Every effort is taken to keep the rules/procedures consistent with the national procedures/rules.

Recommendations to North Central Region:

• It was recommended that the poster sessions be positioned between the two research sessions and possibly be included with one of the formal breaks.

Recommendations to National Committee:

Committee Members in Attendance:			
Name	E-mail	Name	E-mail
Harry Boone	hnboone@wvu.edu	John Ewing	
Tim Buttles		Steve Harbstreit	
Daniel Foster			

Others AAAE Members in Attendance:			
Name	E-mail	Name	E-mail

2009 Research roster bession			
1 st Place Award	P. Ryan Saucier, John D. Tummons, Leon G. Schumacher, & Robert Terry, Jr. (University of Missouri)	FFA Professional Development Needs of Missouri Agricultural Educators	
1st Runner-up	Levon Esters (Purdue University)	Development of an Instrument to Measure the Agriscience Education Self-Efficacy of Middle School Students	
2 nd Runner-up	Levon Esters (Purdue University)	An Exploratory Study of Students' Oral Presentation Self-Efficacy	

2009 Poster Winners 2009 Research Poster Session

2009 Innovative Poster Session

1 st Place Award	P. Ryan Saucier & John D. Tummons (University of Missouri)	Professional Development through Winter Technical Institutes: Agricultural Electrification
1st Runner-up**	Michael Pate, Greg Miller & W. Wade Miller (Iowa State University)	Development of an Agricultural Mechanics Course for Preservice Teachers
2 nd Runner-up	B. Allen Talbert, Mark A. Balschweid & Daniel Gottschalk (Purdue University, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Purdue University)	Jamaica: Dawn of a New Beginning
3 rd Runner-up	Benjamin G. Swan, James J. Connors, and Kattlyn J. Wolf (University of Idaho)	Student Teaching Capstone Expedition

**A modified form of the poster "Developing an Agricultural Mechanics Course for Pre-Service Teachers" was presented at the 2009 national meeting in Louisville, KY. The authors do not plan to present North Central version at the 2010 national meeting in Omaha, NE.